Character progression

Skills, ISK, and Killmails. What are the metrics by which our characters are measured? In EVE, I am my own hero and embark on a journey. My character grows in power…

A few days ago I picked up an idea in a conversation that I’d like to expand on a bit here. As always, with this type of blog post: You’re welcome to wander with my thoughts, or just don’t and use the “To Read More” selection on the right.
The conversation wasn’t actually about EVE Online at all but about another MMORPG.
“You can play on our server! Leveling is super fast anyway if you have the EP bonus.” This statement got me thinking a bit. I compared the whole thing to EVE and was startled to realize that we’ve long since reached that point in New Eden, too. That I have arrived at this point – against all my beliefs.

For me, character development has always been a part of the journey. Back in the days of Learning Skills, I’m sure things weren’t better than they used to be – but they were slower. You had enough time to not only get to know your character and their slowly growing skills. Along the way, you got to know other players and could try out how the different ship sizes, weapons and utilities worked.
I had adventures with my character, most of which are thankfully recorded in this blog. I’ve experienced wars and roams, and every now and then I’ve redecorated my character a bit. But all my memories in EVE are tied to this one character. With Jezaja. With him I “grew up” and spent more than 10 years of my life.
There was a feeling of progress when you not only had enough standing for the next higher missions, but also could take a seat in the next higher ship class. I almost want to say there is an emotional attachment to this char. I get endlessly upset when I get taken out of the pod (again), or I get insulted in the local: Me! A mayor general of the Federation Navy!
But all of that is honestly only relevant to me. Sure, there are people out there in the who ask me for my opinion and whose respect and reputation I have gained over the years as a player. For me it’s all linked through my character, many people know me simply as ‘Jezaja’ and address me that way in teamspeak or public events. My main character has grown with me and I with him.

Today, it’s not like that anymore. With free skill points and skill injectors now being thrown at us, this character progression has broken down. Far too quickly, players have access to a class of ships that are almost “overpowered” for the missions they fly – that just don’t make those missions interesting anymore. And far too arbitrary have the new characters become, which are just lifted out of the baptism, because the goal is reached there quite quickly. A ganking character for a fun Sunday afternoon? A farming char for faction warfare? A trader in Hek? All of this can now be accomplished with so little effort that you almost have to worry about who is actually playing whom. Are we still playing the game? Or is New Eden, with its myriad options, now a no-brainer in which we are only needed as puppeteers to maintain the grand simulation of a universe?

At the moment I am writing this blog post, I have a trading char sitting in each of the four trading ports. I’m startled to realize, however, that I can only come up with two names off the top of my head. That’s how foreign these characters are to me, whose buy and sell orders I adjust once every 14 days and who generate a nice side income. They are tools, nothing more or less. My only interest in these chars is the amount of ISK they generate so that Jezaja has enough ISK in her account to have the adventures I report on in this blog.

Fly safe
Jezaja

2 thoughts on “Character progression”

  1. Pingback: Die Qual der Wahl – keep the star

  2. I know what you speak of.
    But we have created this “problem” ourselves by trying to optimize ourselves.

    The easiest way to “fix” this, is to just not do it. Don’t go the “most optimal way”. Just start walking towards the direction one wants to go and see what unforeseen turns the path might take.
    Deoptimization.
    Put the uncertain, the potential for surprise, and unexpected outcomes back in the bag.

    This feeling may be why the “DIY” project of erstschlag is so popular among some people – I included.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Charakterprogression

Skills, ISK und Killmails. Was sind eigentlich die Metriken an denen sich unsere Charaktere messen lassen. In EVE bin ich mein eigener Held und begebe mich auf eine Reise. Mein Charakter wächst…
Vor ein paar Tagen habe ich in einem Gespräch eine Idee aufgeschnappt, die ich hier mal ein bisschen vertiefen möchte. Wie immer gilt bei dieser Art von Blogposts: Ihr seid willkommen mit meinen Gedanken zu wandern, oder ihr lasst es einfach bleiben und benutzt die Auswahl “Zum Weiterlesen” auf der rechten Seite.
In dem Gespräch ging es eigentlich gar nicht um EVE Online sondern über ein anderes MMORPG.
“Du kannst doch auf unserem Server spielen! Das Leveln geht ohnehin superschnell, wenn Du den EP-Bonus hast.” Diese Aussage hat mich ein bisschen nachdenklich gemacht. Ich habe das Ganze mit EVE verglichen und erschrocken festegestellt, dass wir in New Eden auch schon längst an diesem Punkt angekommen sind. Das ich an diesem Punkt angekommen bin – gegen all meine Überzeugungen.

Für mich war die Charakterentwicklung immer ein Teil der Reise. Damals, als es noch die Learning Skills gab, war sicher nicht alles besser als früher – aber langsamer. Man hatte genügend Zeit, um nicht nur seinen Charakter und dessen langsam wachsende Fähigkeiten kennenzulernen. Ganz nebenbei lernte man andere Spieler kennen und konnte ausprobieren, wie die verschiedenen Schiffsgrößen, Waffen und Utilities funktionierten.
Mit meinem Charakter habe ich Abenteuer erlebt, die glücklicherweise zum großen Teil in diesem Blog festgehalten sind. Ich habe Kriege und Roams erlebt und ab und zu habe ich meinen Charakter auch etwas umdekoriert. Aber alle meine Erinnerungen in EVE sind mit diesem einen Charakter verknüpft. Mit Jezaja. Mit ihm bin ich “groß geworden” und habe immerhin mehr als 10 Jahre meines Lebens verbracht.
Ein Gefühl von Fortschritt stellte sich ein, wenn man nicht nur genug Standing für die nächste höheren Missionen erflogen hatte, sondern auch in der nächst höheren Schiffsklasse Platz nehmen konnte. Ich möchte fast sagen, dass es eine emotionale Bindung zu diesem Char gibt. Ich rege mich unendlich auf, wenn ich (mal wieder) aus dem Pod geholt werde, oder ich im Local beleidigt werde: Ich! Ein Mayor General der Federation Navy!
Aber all das ist ehrlich gesagt nur für mich relevant. Klar, da draußen im gibt es Leute die mich um meine Meinung fragen und deren Respekt und Ansehen ich im Laufe der Jahre als Spieler erlangt habe. Für mich ist das alles über meinen Charakter verknüpft, viele Leute kennen mich einfach als ‘Jezaja’ und sprechen mich so im Teamspeak oder öffentlichen Events an. Mein Hauptcharakter ist mit mir gewachsen und ich mit ihm.

Heute ist das nicht mehr so. Mit kostenlosen Skillpunkten und Skillinjektoren, die wir mittlerweile hinterhergeworfen bekommen, ist diese Charakterprogression aufgebrochen. Viel zu schnell haben Spieler so Zugang zu einer Schiffsklasse, die für die Missionen die sie fliegen schon fast “overpowered” sind – die diese Missionen einfach nicht mehr interessant machen. Und viel zu beliebig sind die neuen Chars geworden, die mal eben aus der Taufe gehoben werden, weil das Ziel dorthin ja recht schnell erreicht ist. Ein Ganking-Char für einen lustigen Sonntagnachtmittag? Ein Farming-Char für den Faction Warfare? Einen Trader in Hek? Das alles lässt sich mittlerweile mit so wenig Aufwand bewerkstelligen, dass man sich schon fast Sorgen machen muss, wer hier eigentlich wen spielt. Spielen wir noch das Spiel? Oder ist New Eden mit seinen unzähligen Optionen mittlerweile ein Selbstläufer, in dem wir uns nur noch als Puppenspieler benötigt werden, um die große Simulation eines Universums aufrecht zu erhalten?

In dem Moment, in dem ich diesen Blogpost schreibe, habe ich in jedem der vier Handelshäfen einen Trading-Char sitzen. Mit Erschrecken stelle ich aber fest, dass ich spontan nur zwei Namen nennen kann. So fremd sind mir diese Charaktere, deren Buy- und Sellorder ich alle 14 Tage einmal anpasse und die ein nettes Nebeneinkommen erwirtschaften. Sie sind Werkzeuge, nicht mehr oder weniger. Mein einziges Interesse an diesen Chars ist die Menge an ISK die sie erwirtschaften, damit Jezaja genug ISK auf dem Konto hat, um die Abenteuer zu erleben, von denen ich in diesem Blog berichte.

Fly safe
Jezaja

2 Gedanken zu „Charakterprogression“

  1. Pingback: Die Qual der Wahl – keep the star

  2. I know what you speak of.
    But we have created this “problem” ourselves by trying to optimize ourselves.

    The easiest way to “fix” this, is to just not do it. Don’t go the “most optimal way”. Just start walking towards the direction one wants to go and see what unforeseen turns the path might take.
    Deoptimization.
    Put the uncertain, the potential for surprise, and unexpected outcomes back in the bag.

    This feeling may be why the “DIY” project of erstschlag is so popular among some people – I included.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Diese Website verwendet Akismet, um Spam zu reduzieren. Erfahre mehr darüber, wie deine Kommentardaten verarbeitet werden.